## **CABINET MEMBER FOR EDUCATION & WELSH LANGUAGE**

WEDNESDAY, 24 January 2024

PRESENT: Councillor (In Person): G. Davies (Cabinet Member).

# The following officers were in attendance (In Person):

K. Evans – Democratic Services Officer

Cabinet Member Office - County Hall, Carmarthen. SA31 1JP - 9.00am - 9.10am

#### 1. DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST

There were no declarations of personal interest.

# 2. TO SIGN AS A CORRECT RECORD THE DECISION RECORD OF THE MEETING HELD ON THE 23 NOVEMBER 2023

RESOLVED that the decision record of the meeting held on the 23<sup>rd</sup> November 2023 be signed as a correct record.

## 3. APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

The Cabinet Member considered applications received for Local Authority Governor vacancies within the county. Nominations had been invited from the Chairperson, Head teacher and Local Member(s) in the case of Primary Schools/ the member(s) who were governors in the case of Secondary Schools.

It was noted that Local Authority Governors are appointed for 4 years, and where the vacancy has occurred as a result of an individual's term of office coming to an end, this was noted in the details for that particular person if he/she was seeking appointment.

It was also noted that all County Councillors, when elected, could stipulate which school governing bodies they would sit, and their decision would take preference over 'non-elected' LA Governors. Consequently, County Councillors could nominate to serve as LA Governors on a school that did not have a vacant post and in the event of the governorship becoming oversubscribed, the Council would stipulate which LA Governor was required to stand down.



RESOLVED that, in order to meet statutory obligations for filling vacancies on Governing Bodies and having considered the applications received, the following appointments be made to vacancies for Local Authority Governors:-

Primary School	Appointments	
Brynsaron (2 vacancies – 1 Current and 1 from 27 <sup>th</sup> March)	Cllr. Ken Howell	
Carreg Hirfaen (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Rev. C. Hamilton	
Cross Hands – Drefach Federation (2 vacancies - 1 nomination)	Mr. A. Arnott	
Dafen (1 vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mr. M. P. Jones	
Ffwrnes (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Mrs. L Edmunds	
Griffth Jones (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Cllr. Philip Hughes	
Hendy (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Cllr Gareth Thomas	
Llandybie (1 vacancy from 1 <sup>st</sup> February 2024 – 1 nomination)	Cllr Anthony Davies	
Llangadog (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Mrs. M. Scott	
Meidrim (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Cllr. Jean Lewis	
Model (2 vacancies – 1 nomination)	Mr. D. Maynard	
Nantgaredig (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Mr. H. Rees	



Secondary School	Appointments
Dyffryn Taf	
(3 vacancies, 2 current plus 1 from	Cllr. Sue Allen
27 <sup>th</sup> March, 2024 – 2 nominations)	Mrs. K. Owen

CABINET MEMBER	DATE	

